Rest_In_Peace's current selection is:
Petric: Sonata for horn and piano
by composer Ivo Petric, performed by Zvonko Pirganoski, horn, & Maria Dokuzova, piano
Ivo Petric (1931 to 2018) was a Slovenian oboist, conductor and composer. Ivo Petric was born in Ljubljana, Slovenia (then part of the Kingdom of Yugoslavia), on June 16th 1931. After completing his elementary and secondary schooling, he began taking piano lessons, though without any professional ambitions at that time. He followed classical music by visiting concerts and operas and by listening to the radio, but as a teenager was very active in sport (this ended, however, after he suffered a very serious knee injury). Switching instead to oboe, conducting and compositional studies, he was then educated at the Academy of Music in Ljubljana from 1952 to 1958, and after graduating from there went on to conduct and tour with the 'Slavko Osterc' chamber music ensemble until 1982. In 1979, he became artistic director of the Slovenian Philharmonic Orchestra, a position he held until his retirement in 1995. After his retirement, he concentrated more on publishing his own works on compact disc - his list of compositions was extensive and extremely diverse. In February 2016, he received the "Preseren Award" for his lifetime achievements, the highest accolade possible in the field of Slovenian artistic creativity. Some of his most prominent works were "Symphony No. 1 'Goga'" (started in 1954), "Concerto grosso" (1955), "Symphony No. 2" (1957), "Symphony No. 3" (1960) and "Symphonic Mutations" (1964). Other awards had come much earlier in his career: in 1976, he won first prize at the Wieniawski Competition for his "Sonata for solo violin"; in 1977, first prize at the Uwharie Duo Competition (USA) for "Contacts between Clarinet and Percussion"; in 1984, another first prize at the Oscar Espla Competition in Alicante, Spain, for his symphonic poem "The Picture of Dorian Gray"; for compositional contributions he received the "Zupancic Prize" from the city of Ljubljana in 1977; and his "Six String Quartets" brought him the "Kozina Prize" in 2001 (awarded by the Society of Slovenian Composers). Ivo Petric died in Ljubljana on September 13th 2018, aged 87.
Sources: -
Posted: 10th October 2018
Hundreds of very talented musicians pass away each year, some without much recognition at all. On "Rest In Peace", I aim to give them a fitting 'send-off', with a decent Tribute. I hope you will join me in marking their passing.....
Nothing currently playing...